The Story Train takes you on an amazing journey through the magical fairy tale world of Astrid Lindgren. Meet Mardie, Emil, Karlsson on the Roof and many others. Experience a treasure trove of Swedish children’s books through playful exhibits and a well-stocked children’s bookstore. Restaurant with a great view. READ MORE ->
Spread across 20.2 hectares in a western corner of Singapore, this sprawling park is Asia’s largest, with a collection of over 5,000 birds from 400 species. You’ll meet the many feathered residents during daily feeding sessions, even glimpsing elusive birds like the crested guinea fowl, iridescent starling and turaco. Don’t miss the Waterfall Aviary, one of the world’s largest walk-in aviaries, home to more than 600 birds and a 30-metre-high waterfall. READ MORE ->
The Makapu’u Lookout, located before the trails leading out to the point, offer gorgeous views to offshore islands like Rabbit Island, plus South Shore Oahus coastline and deep blue ocean waters.
In an entire continent of surf towns, Byron Bay stands out as one of the spiritual and historical homes of surfing in what is, pound for pound, perhaps the greatest surfing nation in the world. Despite a tendency toward the upscale, Byron is at heart a hippie town that favors live bands, relaxed cafes that source local ingredients, and plenty of “all natural” everything. Combine that with the naturally cheerful disposition of many Aussies and you won’t find better waves in a more pleasant setting anywhere in the world. The town’s main wave, the Pass, is a classic right-hand point break that accommodates all levels of surfers, though it can get crowded on good swells. Beginners should stay on the beach and more advanced surfers can head south to Broken Head, which has great beach breaks and other classic points.
Jutting out into the Pacific Ocean, the small rocky peninsula known as Bodega Head offers stunning bluff top vistas, enticing trails, beach access, and abundant wildlife viewing, from seabirds to seals and migrating whales. Only about four miles long and one mile wide, Bodega Head shelters the bay and harbor from the power of the Pacific Ocean. Composed of rugged granite, the Head is a bit off of the main coastal route, making it a delightful place to explore along the Sonoma County coast. READ MORE ->
Newgrange is a Stone Age monument in the Boyne Valley, County Meath, Ireland. Newgrange was constructed over 5,000 years ago (about 3,200 B.C.) during the Neolithic period, which makes it older than Stonehenge and Great Pyramids of Giza. Newgrange is a large circular mound with a stone passageway and chambers inside. The mound is ringed by 97 large kerbstones. Newgrange was built by a farming community that prospered on the rich lands of the Boyne Valley. Knowth and Dowth are similar mounds that together with Newgrange have been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Archaeologists classified Newgrange as a passage tomb, however Newgrange is now recognised to be much more than a passage tomb. Ancient Temple is a more fitting classification, a place of astrological, spiritual, religious and ceremonial importance, much as present day cathedrals are places of prestige and worship where dignitaries may be laid to rest. READ MORE ->
The city of Jerusalem was originally built around the Gihon Spring, on the southeastern hill to the south (left) of the Temple Mount, which is today crowned with the gold-domed Dome of the Rock. Jerusalem has been continuously inhabited since at least 3000 BC, but it was only in the time of Solomon that the city limits expanded beyond the southeastern spur, known today as the “City of David.”
A place of refuge and royal grounds south of Kealakekua Bay Located at Honaunau Bay in South Kona, Puuhonua o Honaunau immerses you in Hawaiian culture. This 180-acre national historic park was once the home of royal grounds and a place of refuge for ancient Hawaiian lawbreakers. Kapu, or sacred laws, were of utmost importance to Hawaiian culture and the breaking of kapu had its consequences, including death. If one were to break kapu, their only chance for survival was to evade his pursuers and make it to a puuhonua, or a sacred place of refuge. Once there, a ceremony of absolution would take place and the one who broke kapu would be able to return to society. Hundreds of years old yet beautifully restored, Puuhonua o Honaunau remains one of Hawaii's most sacred historic places. Follow the park and map and take a self-guided walking tour and explore the grounds including the Great Wall, standing 10-feet high and 17-feet thick. Fierce kii, or wooden images of gods, guard the Hale o Keawe Heiau, a sacred temple that housed the bones of 23 alii (chiefs). A black lava rock shoreline hindered those who broke kapu from approaching by sea. Beyond the puuhonua, explore the nearby Royal Grounds, which were the sacred home of alii. See Keoneele Cove, the royal canoe landing; the Keoua Stone, the favorite resting place of the high chief of Kona, Keoua; as well as halau (thatched work house), fishponds and a heiau (sacred temple) that is one of the oldest structures in the park. Beautiful at sunset, this sacred place gives visitors an important glimpse into early Hawaiian culture. READ MORE ->
Ouray has been a special destination of world travelers for more than 100 years. This small intimate community is nestled in some of the most rugged and towering peaks of the Rockies. Set at the narrow head of a valley at 7,792 feet and surrounded on three sides with 13,000 foot snowcapped peaks - Ouray is home to hundreds of miles of historic Jeep roads, sulfur-free hot springs with stunning views and the world-famous Ouray Ice Park. Remarkably, two-thirds of Ouray's original Victorian structures, are still occupied, and have been lovingly restored in order to preserve their turn-of-the-century charm. READ MORE ->
Once called the Big Mountain in northwestern Montana, Whitefish Mountain Resort offers spectacular views of Glacier National Park and Flathead National Forest. With an annual snowfall of 300 plus inches and 3000 acres of skier and rider accessible terrain, 11 lifts, two T-bars and one magic carpet offer access to 105 named trails and vast bowl and tree skiing. READ MORE ->
The Rainbow Falls in Hilo are a good place to visit early in the morning perhaps even before breakfast. This broad waterfall in the Wailuku river is conveniently located within Hilo town. It cascades over a lava cave that according to legends is home to the ancient Hawaiian goddess Hina, the goddess of the moon. The waterfall itself is a modest 80 ft high, which is not that high compared to the nearby, 422 ft, ‘Akaka falls. However, the Rainbow falls are more easily accessible and it is possible to see the falls from very close, compared to the ‘Akaka falls. Besides, a big selling point of these waterfalls are the many rainbows you can see in early morning. READ MORE ->
Eucalyptus tree–filled grove with thousands of monarch butteries in late October through February. Each year thousands of vibrant orange and black Monarch Butterflies flock to Pismo Beach, seeking shelter from the freezing northern winters. From late October to February, the butterflies cluster in the limbs of a grove of Eucalyptus trees at Pismo State Beach. The grove is easily accessible. It is located on State Highway 1 at the south boundary of the city limits of Pismo Beach. READ MORE ->
The Cafesjian Center for the Arts is dedicated to bringing the best of contemporary art to Armenia and presenting the best of Armenian culture to the world. Inspired by the vision of its founder, Gerard L. Cafesjian, the Center offers a wide variety of exhibitions, derived from the Gerard L. Cafesjian Collection of contemporary art. Having celebrated its grand opening in November 2009, CCA continues to exhibit unique works of modern art and offers a diverse program of lectures, films, concerts, and numerous educational initiatives for adults and children. READ MORE ->
Important both for its high biodiversity and for its karst features, Gunung Mulu National Park, on the island of Borneo in the State of Sarawak, is the most studied tropical karst area in the world. The 52,864-ha park contains seventeen vegetation zones, exhibiting some 3,500 species of vascular plants. Its palm species are exceptionally rich, with 109 species in twenty genera noted. The park is dominated by Gunung Mulu, a 2,377 m-high sandstone pinnacle. At least 295 km of explored caves provide a spectacular sight and are home to millions of cave swiftlets and bats. The Sarawak Chamber, 600 m by 415 m and 80 m high, is the largest known cave chamber in the world. whc.unesco.org/en/list/1013
Located in a country known for cold water, heavy waves, and sharks, Muizenberg, South Africa, is an oasis of gentle rollers, friendly locals, and beachside cafes. And don’t forget about the local wine. “Muizenberg is the best ‘learn to surf’ beach in the world,” says Tim Conibear, founder of Isiqalo, a Cape Town organization that teaches kids from low-income neighborhoods to surf. “The attitude in the water is also super-mellow, with a general acceptance of all watercrafts and abilities. Shark spotters keep you safe, so you don't need to worry. For heavier waves, take a walk toward Kalk Bay, where there's a serious reef. Danger Reef is also a little left-breaking wave that's worth a stop.”
Anse de Grande Saline takes its name from the large salt pond nearby. The beach is a favorite of nudists (who turn right) and gay visitors (who turn left). While nudism is officially forbidden in St. Barths, it is most likely to be practiced here. Happily, this beach is a favored haunt of the most comely women and the most handsome men. READ MORE ->
The biggest market hall of the city, Great Market Hall, stands right next to Pest-end of Liberty Bridge. The building, that has Zsolnay tiles, was opened in 1897, and back then the fresh products arrived through the canal in the middle. There’s no canal today, but they still have fresh local delicacies, vegetables, fruits, salamis, and quality meet products. The hall is a must-see for tourists, so no surprise it has plenty of souvenir shops. Upstairs, numerous buffets offer their Hungaricums: if someone wants to have real a Hungarian (sometimes overpriced) töltött káposzta (stuffed cabbage), goulash, Hortobágyi palacsinta (meat filled pancake), or lángos, then they should mark Vámház körút 1-3 on their maps. READ MORE ->
The Lions Gate is also known as St. Stephen’s Gate, it is the location that Paul (Saul) witnessed the stoning of Steven. The Lion’s Gate is located in the east wall, and leads to the Via Dolorosa. Near the top of the Lion’s Gate are four figures of lions, two on the left and two on the right. Israeli soldiers from the 55th Paratroop Brigade came through this gate during the Six Day War in 1967.
The Nimrod Fortress is the biggest Crusade-era castle in all of Israel, a mountain-top stronghold spanning back to the 13th century. With views of much of the Golan, the Nimrod Fortress is situated on a peak neighboring Israel’s highest and only snow-capped mountain, Mount Hermon. Below the fortress are the lush Banias forests with the rivers and waterfalls. The ruins of Nimrod Fortress are beautiful and well-preserved, a truly visible snapshot of history. Nimrods Fortress and Hula Valley from North Tower. Image: Boruch LenNimrods Fortress and Hula Valley from North Tower. Image: Boruch Len Within the stately ruins of the Nimrod Fortress – some 420 meters in length and 150 meters in width, a route has been mapped out, each place of interest marked with descriptive signs. From the lower western section, where most of the interesting antiquities are found, to the upper eastern section, the oldest part of the fortress, some 13 marked sites are to be seen on the route. Starting with the Northwest Tower, a short walk up from the parking lot, a collection of rooms, arches and even a small toilet room are seen. Next, after seeing the Baybars Inscription, is the Western Tower which is not yet excavated. Then, still following the route, the Southwest Tower and the Large Reservoir – a spectacular indoor reservoir pool within an arched room, are to be enjoyed. Continuing along the wall to the upper western section, the “Beautiful Tower” can be found, a round room with a great faceted pillar holding up the stone ceiling. Crossing the dry Moat, the Donjon (Keep) is next. Atop the Keep one gets the best view of both the fortress and the surrounding area, a beautiful blend of stone and foliage. Returning to the western section, the Prison Tower can be visited and when you want to “escape” you can sneak through the Secret Passage (27 meters or 88.5 feet long) which opens up in the Northwest Tower – where the route started. The full circle can take up to several hours, depending on how long one spends both examining the magnificent architecture and the incredible panoramic vista. READ MORE ->
Peradeniya Royal Botanical Gardens, the finest of its kind in Asia, the largest of the botanical gardens of Sri Lanka, couldn't be better located. In the Mediterranean climate of Kandy, the gateway to the Central Highlands, the Gardens, at an elevation of 500 meters above sea-level, were tightly bounded on three sides by a loop of River Mahaweli (Great sandy river), the largest river of Sri Lanka. The town of Peradeniya is located at a distance of 110km from Colombo and another 6km over the Peradeniya Birdge and you are at Kandy, home to the sacred Temple of Tooth. Peradeniya is believed to take its exotic name from Sinhalese names Pera (guava) and Deniya (a plain). The name also reveals, although Guava is not indigenous to Sri Lanka, introduction of the fruit to the island and cultivation had occurred even prior to the era of British Colonialists in Ceylon. READ MORE ->
Mtatsminda is the mountain topped by the 210m-high TV mast that overlooks central Tbilisi. Located 800-metres above the city Mtatsminda Park (known as Bombora) spreads over more than 1 sq km and has been a popular fun spot for generations. READ MORE ->
Tel Dan National Park combines a lush nature reserve with a biblical archaeological experience with three easy hiking routes Tell (Tel) Dan is a nature reserve and the source of the Dan and Jordan rivers. It is an impressive archaeological site with unique remains of the Canaanite and Israelite cities and a Biblical High Place. Tell Dan is located north of Kibbutz Dan. To reach the site, pass the Kibbutz going north, and turn left on the next road following the signs to the Nature Reserve. Biblical period - Relocation of Dan A large number of families from the Israelite tribe of Dan relocated during the 12th C from the central region of Israel to the area around the Canaanite city of Laish-Leshem. They were forced out of the center of Israel by the invading Philistines. The area on the foothills of Mt Hermon was a perfect place, since it is located in the heart of a fertile valley with plenty of water coming down from Mt Hermon and the hills around it. The Bible tells how 600 families of the Dan tribe looked for a substitute for their location in the center of Israel, by sending 5 spies to the Canaanite city (Judges 18 1-2): '...in those days the tribe of the Danites sought them an inheritance to dwell in; for unto that day all their inheritance had not fallen unto them among the tribes of Israel. And the children of Dan sent of their family five men from their coasts, men of valor... to spy out the land, and to search it; and they said unto them, Go, search the land'. The spies returned and praised the fertile area (18 9): '...we have seen the land, and, behold, it is very good'. They later captured the city (Judges 8 27): 'and came unto Laish, unto a people that were at quiet and secure: and they smote them with the edge of the sword, and burnt the city with fire'. The Israelites renamed the city to Dan (Joshua 19 47): 'And the coast of the children of Dan went out too little for them: therefore the children of Dan went up to fight against Leshem, and took it, and smote it with the edge of the sword, and possessed it, and dwelt therein, and called Leshem, Dan, after the name of Dan their father'. READ MORE ->
Referred by locals as the Eighth Wonder of the World this ancient palace and fortress complex has significant archaeological importance and attracts thousands of tourists every year. It is probably the most visited tourist destination of Sri Lanka. he palace is located in the heart of the island between the towns of Dambulla and Habarane on a massive rocky plateau 370 meters above the sea level. Sigiriya rock plateau, formed from magma of an extinct volcano, is 200 meters higher than the surrounding jungles. Its view astonishes the visitors with the unique harmony between the nature and human imagination. The fortress complex includes remnants of a ruined palace, surrounded by an extensive network of fortifications, vast gardens, ponds, canals, alleys and fountains. The surrounding territories of Sigiriya were inhibited for several thousand years. Since 3th century BC the rocky plateau of Sigiriya served as a monastery. In the second half of the 5th century king Kasyapa decided to construct a royal residence here. After his death Sigiriya again became a Buddhist monastery until the 14th century, when it was abandoned. READ MORE ->
With panoramic views of the incredible Shasta National Forest, Lake Siskiyou is the recreational jewel of Northern California. Whether it be quiet fishing moments , quality family time with your children or 4-leg friends out on the lake, or kicking back and relaxing , Lake Siskiyou is the perfect place to take a break and enjoy the great outdoors.
Iconic, mountainous shoreline on Kauai’s North Shore about 90 minutes north of Lihue. Spanning 17 miles along Kauai’s North Shore, the Napali Coast is a sacred place defined by extraordinary natural beauty. These emerald-hued cliffs with razor-sharp ridges tower above the Pacific Ocean, revealing beautiful beaches and waterfalls that plummet to the lush valley floor. The rugged terrain appears much as it did centuries ago when Hawaiian settlements flourished in these deep, narrow valleys, existing only on the food they could grow and the fish they could catch. There are many ways to explore the Napali Coast, but the safest access and best views are found by sea or by air. Boat tours depart from Port Allen on the West Side, and during the summer months, guided kayaking trips bring you up-close to soaring cathedral cliffs. When conditions are right, raft tours are available to guide you to hidden sea caves and remote beaches. READ MORE ->
The iconic ruin of Dunluce Castle bears witness to a long and tumultuous history. First built on the dramatic coastal cliffs of north County Antrim by the MacQuillan family around 1500, the earliest written record of the castle was in 1513. It was seized by the ambitious MacDonnell clan in the 1550's, who set about stamping their mark on the castle under the leadership of the famous warrior chieftain Sorely Boy MacDonnell during an era of violence, intrigue and rebellion. In the 17th century Dunluce was the seat of the earls of County Antrim and saw the establishment of a small town in 1608. Visitors can explore the findings of archaeological digs within the cobbled streets and stone merchants’ houses of the long-abandoned Dunluce Town. The dramatic history of Dunluce is matched by tales of a banshee and how the castle kitchens fell into the sea one stormy night in 1639. READ MORE ->
The Banias Waterfall provides one of Israel’s most beautifully tranquil spots. Set within the Banias Nature Reserve in the Golan, the Banias is a spring which rises from the base of Mount Hermon, Israel’s tallest mountain, flowing for about 3.5km through a gorge, eventually coming to the impressive waterfall, the largest in Israel. READ MORE ->
You'll feel like an extra in a sci-fi movie when exploring the massive Makhtesh Ramon Nature Reserve. The landscape resembles Tatooine (the fictional desert planet in Star Wars) and the wide, open spaces, far from city lights and crowds, are equally suited to those seeking solitude or an activity-triggered adrenaline rush. In Hebrew the word 'mitzpe' means ‘lookout’, and the town of Mitzpe Ramon, spectacularly sited on the makhtesh's northern edge, well and truly lives up to its name. Views are of the take-your-breath-away variety and draw a constant stream of tourists – as a result the town is well set up with tourism infrastructure. Sometimes described as Israel’s very own Grand Canyon, the reserve is the largest protected area in Israel and is home to a huge number of hiking, cycling and horse-riding trails, as well as cliffs offering rappelling opportunities. If you're keen on outdoor activities, you'll be in your element. Despite being in the heart of the desert, Mitzpe (as it's often called) is also one of the coldest places in Israel due to its elevation (900m above sea level), so pack appropriately. READ MORE ->
Enjoy the half mile downhill walk to the Light Station buildings. There is much to do when visiting the Point Cabrillo Light Station, a California State Historic Park. The State Park includes the historic 1909 Light Station (30.5 acres), approximately 270 acres of undeveloped coastal bluffs and prairie and numerous coves, including Frolic Cove, the site of the shipwreck Frolic. When visiting, please respect how dangerous the Pacific Ocean can be, even on apparently calm days and stay well away from the edges of any bluffs. READ MORE ->
Famous area of picturesque hills & meadows dotted with villages, grand residences & castles. - Google. Photogenic villages, rolling hills, castles, gardens Stretching across 800 square miles of bucolic hills, Britain’s Cotswolds region includes countless charming villages in five counties that personify the enduring appeal of the English countryside. Medieval wool merchants built stately manor houses and remarkable, timeless churches that have been lovingly preserved. And Britain’s largest designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is blessed with an abundance of Roman sites, abbeys, gardens and castles. READ MORE ->
Tucked into the forested foothills of the Southern Alps, the cosy township of Fox Glacier is geared up for glacier walks, hikes and flights. Named after Sir William Fox, New Zealand’s Prime Minister from 1869 to 1872, Fox Glacier describes both the glacier and the nearby village. Like its twin, Franz Josef, the glacier descends from the Southern Alps down into temperate rainforest just 300 metres above sea level. To see the glacier, you can walk to the terminal face, arrange an ice-hiking adventure or book a sightseeing flight. There are glow worm caves just a short walk from the town centre, which offers a good choice of cafes and restaurants. Close to Fox Glacier is beautiful Lake Matheson, one of the most photographed lakes in New Zealand. On a clear day it reflects Mount Cook. READ MORE ->
St John's Co-Cathedral, Malta's most impressive church, was designed by the architect Gerolamo Cassar. It was built between 1573 and 1578, taking over from the Church of Saint Lawrence, Vittoriosa as the place where the Knights would gather for communal worship. The interior was revamped in the 17th century in exuberant Maltese baroque style, and it's an astounding surprise after the plain facade. One of its greatest treasures is a huge painting of John the Baptist by Caravaggio. READ MORE ->
Dominating Palace Square, the Grand Master's Palace has always been the house of government in Malta, first by the knights, then the British and now hosts the President’s office. When parliament is not in session you can visit the palace for free, and there is an awful lot to see in here. The Grand Master’s Palace has been the administrative centre of Malta for almost three and a half centuries. The original palace, built in 1571, was the seat of the Grand Master of the Knights Hospitalliers of St John and later, during the British colonial period, served as the Governor’s palace. Today it is home to the House of Representatives of Malta and the office of the President of the Republic of Malta. The Age of Chivalry comes alive in one of the most prominent arms collections , with weapons and armour that provide a human context to the Great Siege of Malta, and the military provenance of the Knights of St. John. Highlights include the personal armour of Grand Master La Valette, the dazzling parade armour of Grand Master Alof de Wignacourt, and a collection of weapons used by the Ottomans during the Great Siege of 1565. READ MORE ->
The Museum of Antioquia (Museo Antioquia) is probably the most ambitious urban and cultural enterprise in Medellin. Recently renovated, the new branch hosts most of the permanent and traveling exhibitions in its halls. It is located in the facilities formerly occupied by the old Palacio Municipal. The bulk of the exhibition are on the second floor and include works by Botero ... READ MORE ->
A wetland home to thousands of species. A paradise for birds, and shelter to hundreds of bird species. A natural triangle between the rivers Danube and Drava, and the largest internal delta of the Danube. This area is one of the largest European wetlands, and it never looks the same, with every new visit bringing a new insight into nature. Kopački rit is a mystical place where one returns to the unhindered fullness of life. READ MORE ->
The Manoel Theatre is one of the oldest working theatres in Europe. Constructed in 1731 by the Grand Master Antonio Manoel de Vilhena 'for the honest entertainment of the Knights' the theatre is a baroque gem with a wonderful acoustic and a full calendar of events populated by local and international performers, with productions in English and Maltese. The museum Beyond a purely theatrical visit, guided tours of the theatre and its museum are conducted daily. Lavish stage costumes are on display at the museum, along with antique sound-effects machines and archival programmes. READ MORE ->
The Canyon is like specially created by nature to protect the city from enemies. In the deep, narrow valley flows Smotrich, and the stone walls around it reach 50 meters. The length of this geological limestone formation is 9 km, the area is 80 hectares. Now the canyon has the status of a national monument of nature. In one part of the canyon, the geologist Verzhikivskyi in 1926 counted 111 varieties of fossil remains of the fauna ('Geological guide on the western side').
Büyük Han (Great Inn) was built in 1572 by the first Ottoman governor of Cyprus, Muzaffer Pasha. Its architecture is similar to numerous hans(inns) encountered in Anatolia (Turkey): a courtyard surrounded with rooms arranged on two floors. The lower rooms were used as shops, storage rooms and offices. The rooms on the upper floor served for lodging and each is fitted with a fireplace which has an octagonal chimney. In the middle of the courtyard there is a domed octagonal miniature mosque resting on eight columns with a fountain for ablutions under it. During the British rule, the Han was used as the Nicosia Central Prison. Later the Great Han was used as a builders' yard; a couple of years ago it was renovated and now it is a very lively place with shops, art/photo galleries and cafes.
Situated in South Thailand, Khao Sok was established as Thailand's 22nd national park in 1980 by The Royal Forest Department. The park covers 739 km² land area of Amphoe Phanom and Ban Takhun in Surat Thani province and includes the Cheow Lan reservoir dammed by the Ratchaprapha dam. The relatively convenient distance to Koh Samui, Phuket, Krabi and Khao Lak makes this park the most popular national park in South Thailand. READ MORE ->
For many Christian pilgrims to Jerusalem, the most important and meaningful thing they will do while in the city is walk the Via Dolorosa, the route that Jesus took between his condemnation by Pilate and his crucifixion and burial. The Via Dolorosa pilgrimage is followed by Christians of many denominations, but especially Catholics and Orthodox. The Via Dolorosa pilgrimage been followed since early Christianity, beginning as soon as it became safe to do so after Constantine legalized the religion (mid-4th century). Originally, Byzantine pilgrims followed a similar path to the one taken today, but did not stop along the way. Over the centuries, the route has changed several times. By the 8th century, the route had changed: beginning at the Garden of Gethsemane, pilgrims headed south to Mount Zion then doubled back around the Temple Mount to the Holy Sepulchre. The Middle Ages saw two rival routes, based on a split in the Latin Church: those with churches to the west went westward and those with churches in the east went eastward. From the 14th to 16th centuries, pilgrims followed the Franciscan route, which began at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre and included eight stations. Around this time, the tradition of 14 Stations of the Cross was developing in Europe. To avoid disappointing European pilgrims, the difference was made up with the addition of six more stations. Today, the main route of the Via Dolorosa is that of the early Byzantine pilgrims, with 14 stations along the way. However, alternative routes are followed by those who have different opinions on the locations of various events. Anglicans believe Jesus would have been led north towards the Garden Tomb, while Dominican Catholics start from Herod's Palace near Jaffa Gate. For most pilgrims, however, the exact location of each event along the Via Dolorosa is of little importance; the pilgrimage has great meaning due to its proximity to the original events and the reflection upon them along the way. READ MORE ->
The Pha That Luang stupa is the symbol of the city of Vientiane, the capital of Laos. It's a huge golden stupa, built in the year 1566. Its golden color is not painting but it is literally covered in gold. The Pha That Luang Temple is one of the most representative places of Buddhism and the splendor of Laos, as well as being a monument of national pride. Temple Pha That Luang, whose literal translation means great golden stupa is a monument built in the year 1566, mandated by the King Setthathirat on the ruins of an ancient Hindu temple of the third century. The Hindu temple was built by the Khmer civilization (or Khmer civilization). According to popular belief, the temple housed a relic of Buddha (a rib to be exact) brought from India by missionaries of the Court of the Emperor Ashoka. The capital of Laos was formerly the city of Luang Prabang (Xiengthong), after the victory over the Burmese, King Setthathirat armies he ordered to move the capital from Luang Prabang to Vientiane for purely strategic reasons. Arriving in Vientiane the King ordered the construction of palaces, temples and monuments, among them the Pha That Luang temple whose purpose was to make shade for the great stupa in Chiang Mai. The great golden stupa of Pha That Luang in Vientiane it took 6 years to build. READ MORE ->
Armenia's state repository of ancient manuscripts, inluding illuminated manuscripts. The Institute of Ancient Manuscripts (the Matenadaran), built in 1957, was designed by Mark Grigoryan. Hardly a visitor leaves Yerevan without visiting the institute; it is one of the most interesting things to see in the republic. A flight of steps leads up to a statue of Mesrop Mashtots, who compiled the Armenian alphabet (in 396). The scholar is seated with one arm raised aloft, pointing the way to literacy and knowledge to his first pupil, bending his knee reverentially before his teacher. The letters of the Armenian alphabet have been carved into the wall behind. Before the entrance to the museum, stand sculptures of ancient philosophers, scientists and men of the arts who, from left to right are: Toros Roslin (thirteenth century), Grigor Tatevatsi (fifteenth century), Anani Shirakatsi (seventh century), Movses Khorenatsi (fifth century), Mkhitar Gosh (twelfth century) and Frik (fourteenth century). As you enter this temple of reason through massive doors of embossed copper, you see before you the entrance hail decorated with a mosaic of the Avarair Battle, one of the memorable events in the life of the Armenian people, when they rose, on May 26,451, against their conquerors. On the wall opposite the staircase there is a fresco, a triptych depicting three different periods in the history and culture of the Armenian people, by Ovanes Khachatryan. The Matenadaran, which in ancient Armenian means ‘‘manuscript store’’ or ‘‘library’’, is a major centre for the study and preservation of Armenian works of literature. In ancient times and the Middle Ages manuscripts were reverentially guarded in Armenia, and they played an important role in the people’s fight against spiritual subjugation and assimilation. The major monasteries and universities had special writing rooms, where skilled scribes copied books by Armenian scholars and writers, and Armenian translations of works by foreign authors. READ MORE ->
Wineglass Bay, on Tasmania's Freycinet Peninsula, is considered one of the top ten beaches in the world. This flawless crescent of dazzling white sand and sapphire-coloured sea set against pink and grey granite peaks is one of Australia's most beautiful natural environments. It's the perfect location for fishing, sailing, bushwalking, sea kayaking, rock-climbing, or simply soaking up the spectacular coastal scenery. Wineglass Bay has become a favourite honeymoon destination for couples to escape and relax away from the rest of the world. With secluded sandy beaches, luxurious eco-lodges, and fine Tasmanian cuisine, Freycinet Peninsula is an adventure of pure indulgence. READ MORE ->
In the Andaman Sea in close proximity to the Malaysian border, can be found this inviting Thai island renowned for its coral-rich waters. Fans of clearer, calmer and shallower water than that accessible at many of the other destinations on this list will be more than happy with this part of Southern Thailand, not least as they will have four main beaches from which to choose. READ MORE ->
Finest specimens of Buddhist art. Sarnath has yielded a rich collection of sculptures, artifacts and edifices comprising numerous Buddha and Bodhisattva images and other ancient remains. While the single most famous exhibit of this museum is the lion capital, the Sarnath museum has a small but awe-inspiring collection of Buddhist artifacts. Among the things to see is a beautiful sculpture of the Buddha from the fifth century. The Buddha sits cross-legged, with eyes downcast in deep meditation, and a halo around his head. Also worth exploring are several beautiful figures of the bodhisattvas. READ MORE ->
Old waterfront fort now housing the National War Museum , which covers the Bronze Age through WWII. Since the sixteenth century, Fort St. Elmo has protected the peninsula of Valletta, capital of the island nation of Malta. In 1552, four Italian architects were commissioned to begin construction of the fort, and from the sixteenth to the twentieth century, a number of expansions and renovations were made—adding Italian, French, Spanish, and British influence to the original structure. READ MORE ->
Ko Lanta (also spelt Koh Lanta) is one of Thailand’s most beautiful islands, located just off the coast of Krabi. Its long coastline has nearly a dozen beaches, some considered the finest in the country, and each one with its own charm and atmosphere. The tourist season in Ko Lanta runs from October through April with the most visitors here December to March. An increasing number of people are visiting in Green Season (May to October) when daily rainfall usually only lasts a few hours. READ MORE ->
Hikers, mountaineers and avid nature lovers head into Aoraki/Mt Cook National Park to marvel at its exquisite mountain ranges, glaciers and remarkable rocky terrains. ... -Google. Mt Cook, the tallest mountain in New Zealand, helped Sir Edmund Hillary to develop his climbing skills in preparation for the conquest of Everest. Aoraki Mount Cook National Park is home of the highest mountains and the longest glaciers. It is alpine in the purest sense - with skyscraping peaks, glaciers and permanent snow fields, all set under a star-studded sky. According to Ngai Tahu legend, Aoraki and his three brothers were the sons of Rakinui, the Sky Father. While on a sea voyage, their canoe overturned on a reef. When the brothers climbed on top of their canoe, the freezing south wind turned them to stone. The canoe became the South Island (Te Waka o Aoraki); Aoraki and his brothers became the peaks of the Southern Alps. READ MORE ->
Italian cave with exceptional acoustics and an unsavory history. In 1829, journalist and geographer Conrad Malt-Brun observed: “The tearing of a piece of paper makes a noise not unlike that occasioned by knocking a heavy stick against a stone.” The cave, which is characterized by a narrow tunnel at the top that widens into the more expansive cavern below, is believed to have been hewn from an ancient limestone quarry. Some, however, speculate that the unique shape was formed from natural rather than manmade processes and is preserved in its original state due to reverence for the strange acoustics which were perceived as sacred. The cave was named by Italian painter Caravaggio after the Greek tyrant Dionysius I who ruled Syracuse from 432 to 367 B.C. According to legend, Dionysius used the cave as a prison, spying on his captives from the small opening at the top of the cave where even whispers from the cavern below could be clearly heard. Recent investigations, however, have found this myth to be implausible; though the amplifying effects of the cave’s shape are indeed impressive, they don’t account for the resonance which garbles even the best enunciated speech. Another more gruesome tale holds that the sadistic emperor, rather than listening for secrets, took satisfaction in hearing the amplified screams of his prisoners as they were tortured. READ MORE ->
The iconic glory-piece at the centre of Kraków’s market square, there is proof that a structure of some sort has existed on the site of the Cloth Hall (Sukiennice) since the mid-13th century. Originally resembling two rows of stone trading stalls with a thoroughfare running between them, a roof was erected over them around 1300 before King Kazimierz the Great approved the construction of a purpose-built trading hall in the mid-14th century. As a result, Kraków’s importance as an east-west trading post increased; though the name ‘Sukiennice’ refers specifically to the trade of textiles and fabrics, Kraków’s Cloth Hall saw an array of commodities bought and sold in its merchant stalls including wax, spices, leather and silk, as well as lead and salt from the nearby Wieliczka mines. After a fire destroyed the building in the mid-16th century, the Sukiennice underwent a Renaissance facelift overseen by Jan Maria Padovano (1493-1574) featuring brilliantly deformed gargoyles by the Italian-Polish sculptor Santi Gucci on the façade. At this time the Cloth Hall was probably the most magnificent building in all of Kraków. By the mid-1870s, however, Poland had been partitioned for nearly a century and the Cloth Hall was in a rather decrepit state. Between 1875-79, while the city was part of Austro-Hungarian-controlled Galicia, many of the outbuildings were torn down and the neo-Gothic colonnades and outside arcades were added by Tomasz Pryliński, a student of Jan Matejko. The interior was converted into a series of wooden stalls and on October 7th, 1879 the Kraków City Council voted to give half of the upper floor of the Cloth Hall over to the creation of the first Polish National Museum. It quickly became the focal point for a huge celebration of Polish patriotism attracting Poles from all three partitions as well as those from self-imposed exiles abroad. READ MORE ->
Almost completely obscured from the view of passing boats, Stiniva beach on the Croatian island of Vis has something of the James Bond villain lair about it. But its secret is out. This week it was named the top beach in Europe for 2016 by the Brussels-based tourism organisation European Best Destinations following a poll of more than 10,000 holidaymakers.READ MORE ->
Wherever you go in Lviv, you are inevitably astonished by its inimitable and varied architecture. However, the Potocki Palace, hiding behind open-worked forged fence on one of the streets that radiate from the main city artery, Svobody Avenue, stands out against the background of majestic ancient buildings, huddling in the downtown. Its elegant building, whose luxurious forms are reminiscent of French Renaissance castles, is rightly considered to be one of the most interesting and beautiful monuments of architecture in Lviv. In the middle of the 19th century, a park with a small hunting homestead, owned by the noble Polish family Potocki, was located on the modern palace’s place. A legend states that Potocki family owned these lands since the 17th century. In 1860, the Count Alfred II Potocki ordered to pull down the mansion and to build big gala palace on its place. The palace was intended for solemn receptions and high-rank meetings. As long as the count was in fond of exquisite French architecture, he chose the project of the prominent architect from France and hired Polish architect Julian Tsibulsky to adapt and implement it. The customer wasn’t destined to see the palace; he had died before the construction was finished and his son continued to supervise the building process, afterwards. In 1880, the luxurious palace that harmonically combined traits of baroque and classicism was raised. It was a three-storeyed building with high mansard roof and elegantly decorated facades. Monumental gates with two side wings separated building’s yard from the Kopernika Street. Given frequent receptions, special areas for carriages were equipped in the yard. The terrace, from which rounded stairs descended to the park, was located on the opposite side of the Potocki Palace. READ MORE ->
Scenic area offering camping & a variety of hiking trails with red rock vistas & 2,500 stone arches. Hiking & camping amid red rock vistas. Dscover a landscape of contrasting colors, landforms and textures unlike any other in the world. The park has over 2,000 natural stone arches, in addition to hundreds of soaring pinnacles, massive fins and giant balanced rocks. This red rock wonderland will amaze you with its formations, refresh you with its trails, and inspire you with its sunsets. READ MORE ->
Outdoor waterpark featuring pools, rides & slides, plus restaurants, bars & entertainment. - Google. Great variety of slides with covered stairways on the higher levels. Quite a large site with some nice extras such as a swim up cocktail bar and diving boards.
Mount Zion, the highest point in ancient Jerusalem, is the broad hill south of the Old City’s READ MORE ->' target='_blank'>Armenian Quarter. Also called Sion, its name in Old Testament times became projected into a metaphoric symbol for the whole city and the Promised Land. Several important events in the early Christian Church are likely to have taken place on Mount Zion: • The Last Supper of Jesus and his disciples, and the coming of the Holy Spirit on the disciples, both believed to have been on the site of the Cenacle; • The appearance of Jesus before the high priest Caiaphas, believed to have been at the site of the Church of St Peter in Gallicantu; • The “falling asleep” of the Virgin Mary, believed to have occurred at the site of the Church of the Dormition. • The Council of Jerusalem, around AD 50, in which the early Church debated the status of converted gentiles (Acts 15:1-29), perhaps also on the site of the Cenacle. READ MORE ->
Vardzia was built after 10,000 Turkish troops marched into Georgia but were defeated by a bold Georgian army of just 2,000 men. There are only 750 rooms left now after an earthquake but in its heyday it housed 50,000 people. The rooms include monk cells, a grand foyer, a treasury, cathedral, libraries, stables, bakeries, and bathing pools. Each dwelling consisted of three rooms, although it is said that Queen Tamar, Georgia’s first female sovereign, who completed the city after her uncle’s death, had 366 rooms so that if Vardzia were to be invaded by the Persians she would be able to lose the enemy in her quarters. This cave monastery was built during the “Golden Age” of feudal Georgia. Built between 1184 and 1186, it is a unique example of cave architecture. It is thought to have been of great cultural significance, having been built during the time of Rustaveli. At this time, Georgian art, science, and literature flourished. Originally built as a military base by Giorgi III, it was Queen Tamar who was responsible for the change in function to a more religious site. The legend has it that when the workmen finished where they had started removing the rock, at the end of each day their tools would mysteriously have been moved to another location. After this happened a number of times it was considered to be divine intervention and the new location became the chosen place. It therefore had religious significance form the start. It is also thought that the city’s name derived from something Queen Tamar said. Tamar got lost in the caves when she was young and out riding with her uncle Giorgi. He called ‘where are you?’ she replied, ‘ak var dzia,’ meaning ‘here I am’.
Santa Rosa, was one of the largest and oldest haciendas in the country, since 1663 they have data of its existence as a place where through the years and until 1966 agricultural and livestock activities were developed.
Huge national park offering mountain & glacier views, more than 100 bird species, camping & boating. Soaring almost vertically more than 2000m above the Patagonian steppe, the granite pillars of Torres del Paine (Towers of Paine) dominate the landscape of what may be South America's finest national park. Before its creation in 1959, the park was part of a large sheep estancia, and it's still recovering from nearly a century of overexploitation of its pastures, forests and wildlife. Most people visit the park for its one greatest hit but, once here, realize that there are other attractions with equal wow power. We're talking about azure lakes, trails that meander through emerald forests, roaring rivers you'll cross on rickety bridges and one big, radiant blue glacier. Variety spans from the vast openness of the steppe to rugged mountain terrain topped by looming peaks. READ MORE ->
Fiordland National Park is in the southwest of New Zealand’s South Island. It’s known for the glacier-carved fiords of Doubtful and Milford sounds. A beech forest trail on the sandy Milford shore offers views of towering Mitre Peak. Nearby, the craggy Earl Mountains are reflected in the glassy surface of Mirror Lakes. On the Cleddau River, the Chasm Walk passes over bridges with views of powerful waterfalls.
2.5-mi. palm tree–lined beach for surfing & relaxing, with nearby nightlife options. -Google. Located less than 1.5 hours from Costa Rica’s Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO), Jaco is the closest major beachside destination to the capital city of San Jose. With rolling green hills of jungle and farm pasture in the distance, Jaco sits in a wide cove with rocky points on each end.Jaco is considered to be one of Costa Rica’s most developed beach towns and the main strip, which runs adjacent to the sand, is bustling, both day and night. READ MORE ->
A perfect trail for beginners, families with small children or light hikers, and one of Canyonlands National Park's most iconic vistas. The arch is right on the edge of a 500-foot cliff, part of a 1,200-foot drop into Buck Canyon. You can get a keyhole view of White Rim country through the arch. If you step back a few steps, you can also frame the lofty La Sal Mountains (usually snow-topped in the spring) with the arch. READ MORE ->
Armenian Stonehenge. The site was rediscovered in 1984 by a team led by researcher Onik Khnkikyan. After a few months of work, Khnkikyan concluded that the site of Zorats Karer must have been an observatory. Moreover, with time, Armenian archeologists, astronomers and astrophysicists found that there were at least two other ancient sites important for prehistoric astronomy in the vicinity: Angeghakot and Metzamor. READ MORE ->
Exibits some of its 4 million artifacts, including the world's oldest Sephardic Jewish document (from 1300s) The National Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina was founded in 1888 and is the oldest of the modern cultural and scientific institutions of Western type in Bosnia and Herzegovina. A series of historical events influenced its establishment. A number of individuals and groups had for a long time prior to this emphasized the need for such an institution. The initial idea to establish a museum dates back to 1850. However, nearly four decades were to elapse before its establishment, during which two empires ruled Bosnia and Herzegovina – Ottoman rule gave way in 1878 to Austro-Hungarian administration. READ MORE ->
The Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin (Velika Gospa) in Dubrovnik is an imposing Baroque cathedral built after the 1667 earthquake. Inside are a number of important paintings (including one by Tatian) and an extensive treasury. Dubrovnik's cathedral was originally built in the 6th or 7th century in the Byzantine style, then rebuilt as a Romanesque church between the 12th and 14th centuries. According to legend (which is unfortunately not well-supported by history), the rebuild was financed by a donation from King Richard the Lionheart (1157-99) after he was shipwrecked and rescued in Dubrovnik. The Romanesque cathedral was badly damaged in the earthquake of 1667 and rebuilt in the Baroque style by Roman architects Andrea Buffalini and Paolo Andreotti. READ MORE ->
Santa Rosa National Park protects some of the last remaining tropical dry forest in the world. The small patch of oak forest near the entrance to the Comelco Ranch is probably representative of the original habitat of much of the park. Ranchers burned most of the plateau region, and African pasture grass (Hyparrenia rufa) and the fire resistant Bignoniaceae trees define the current landscape. Nearer the beaches the habitat becomes more native-like. READ MORE ->
Van Damme State Park consists of beach and upland on the Mendocino Coast. Of all the park system's units along the Mendocino coast, Van Damme is perhaps the richest in terms of historical resources connected with the redwood lumber industry. Its story is a prime example of the struggles and eventual failures of a small, independent lumber operation.
. Built in 1882 in the shape of a Roman cross, the two-story Victorian structure once housed the offices of the sheriff, recorder, treasurer, board of supervisors, jail, and courtrooms of Cochise County. The park includes a museum, exhibits, a gift shop, restrooms, and shaded picnic areas.
This protected nature area has walking paths, boat tours & an archaeological site made of seashells. - Google. Following the construction of the first trails in the early 1970s, the preserve has grown to include bridle paths, wetland boardwalks, bridges and fishing docks, creating even more ways for visitors to explore and enjoy this stunning and pristine part of Hilton Head Island. Do not miss The Shell Ring - dates back almost 4000 years and is the oldest known archaeological site on Hilton Head Island. READ MORE -> READ MORE ->' target='_blank'>MAIN PARKING ->
Stanford Memorial Church stands at the center of the campus, and is the University's architectural crown jewel. It was one of the earliest, and is still among the most prominent, interdenominational churches in the West. Jane Stanford built the church as a memorial to her husband, Leland. Together, Senator and Mrs. Stanford had constructed the University as a memorial to their son, Leland, Jr. The Stanfords, who were religious, but not committed to any denomination, decreed that the church was to be open to all. Adopting such a philosophy, they felt, would permit the church to serve the broadest spiritual needs of the university community. The Stanfords also saw spiritual and moral values as essential to a young person's education and future citizenship. The first chaplain of Memorial Church, the Rev. Charles Gardner, said on its dedication day in 1903: 'We begin anew today no less an experiment than this: to test whether a non-sectarian church can minister to the spiritual needs of a great university. it has been built in love; not to teach a theological system, not to develop a sectarian principle, but to minister to the higher life.' The church construction was completed in 1903. Today, regular multi-faith services are held in the church, in addition to denominational and nondenominational Christian services. Please explore the church's features and history with the links below. READ MORE ->
Lake Shasta Caverns National Natural Landmark is one of three known caverns in Shasta County. Beds originated 250 million years ago when the earth was subjected to the folding of its crust. Ultimately, this created the Klamath Mountains.
Nessebar is one of the most ancient towns in Europe, arising more than 3200 years ago. Situated on a rocky peninsula on the Black Sea, the more than 3,000-year-old site of Nessebar was originally a Thracian settlement (Menebria). At the beginning of the 6th century BC, the city became a Greek colony. The city’s remains, which date mostly from the Hellenistic period, include the acropolis, a temple of Apollo, an agora and a wall from the Thracian fortifications. Among other monuments, the Stara Mitropolia Basilica and the fortress date from the Middle Ages, when this was one of the most important Byzantine towns on the west coast of the Black Sea. Wooden houses built in the 19th century are typical of the Black Sea architecture of the period. READ MORE ->
Waimea Bay, found on Oahu’s North Shore between Haleiwa and Pupukea, is one of our all time favorite beaches. The clean grainy sand and crystal clear cerulean waters are enough to please even the pickiest of beach goers. During the summer, this beach is great for snorkeling, cliff jumping, and exploring the underwater caves. It is common to spot Hawaiian sea turtles and a wide variety of fish native to the Hawaiian waters. There are also cliffs where many people rock climb and slack line. Whereas winter days at Waimea Bay offer monstrous waves that pound down with enough force to nearly sweep the whole beach away. This beach is home to The Quiksilver surf competition in memory of Eddie Aikau. He is known as one of the best big wave surfers. This competition requires such huge waves that until this past year, the waves haven’t even been big enough to hold this competition for the last seven years. While finding parking at this beach can be a challenge, it’s a big enough beach that you can still spread out. After a day of hanging out at Waimea, we love to head down to Shark’s Cove and enjoy dinner at the awesome food trucks. READ MORE ->
Lake was created in 1888, and the dam holding in the water is the second oldest in California. Reservoir & recreation area offering boating, trout fishing & camping, plus nearby hiking trails.-Google. Lake Cuyamaca is a small shallow reservoir located about an hour east of downtown San Diego in the Cuyamaca Mountains. The 110 acre lake is San Diego’s most scenic reservoir, and offers unique fishing opportunities not available at any of the other local reservoirs. READ MORE ->
Hawaii’s missionary era is well defined at the Bailey House Museum in Wailuku. Conveniently located on the way to ‘Iao Valley, the house is constructed of limestone coral, and built on land given to the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions in 1832 by Governor Ho’apili and King Kamehameha III. The first Central Maui Mission Station was built here, with a view overlooking the natural harbor of Kahului. Edward and Caroline Bailey sailed from Boston to Honolulu, arriving there in 1837. In 1840, they came to Maui to teach at the Wailuku Female Seminary, moving into the house that was to become their home for the next 45 years. READ MORE ->
The Children's Creativity Museum is a hands-on, multimedia arts and technology experience for kids of all ages located in San Francisco. READ MORE ->
The museum has championed the most innovative and challenging art of the time, and continues to exhibit and collect work by both modern masters and younger, emerging artists. READ MORE ->
In the late 19th century, Lake Merritt became a magnet for Oakland's elite; some 200 mansions once ringed the lake. Today, only one remains: the Camron-Stanford House on the west shore. Take a Sunday afternoon tour to gape at the marble statues and gilt chandeliers in the meticulously re-created rooms. READ MORE ->
Along the scenic Central California coastline sits Hearst Castle, the former home of media mogul William Randolph Hearst. After purchasing and inheriting thousands of acres of land around San Simeon, Hearst worked with architect Julia Morgan to design his 'Enchanted Hill.” Hearst Castle’s history begins in 1865, when George Hearst purchased 40,000 acres of ranchland. After his mother’s death in 1919, William Randolph Hearst inherited thousands of acres around San Simeon, and over time, he purchased more. The spread eventually encompassed about 250,000 acres. With architect, Julia Morgan, Hearst conceived a retreat he called La Cuesta Encantada—Spanish for “Enchanted Hill.” By 1947, when Hearst had to leave the remote location because of his fragile health, the estate was still unfinished even though it comprised 165 rooms and 123 acres of gardens, terraces, pools and walkways—all built to Hearst’s specifications and showcasing a legendary art collection. READ MORE ->
Every October, thousands of butterflies make a stop in a Pacific Grove eucalyptus grove, the preferred Monarch butterfly habitat, during their migration to warmer climates. The butterflies hang in clusters from eucalyptus branches to maintain body temperature, and the resulting effect is stunning. Visitors come from miles around to take Monarch butterfly tours throughout the sanctuary. READ MORE ->
This Egyptian museum exhibits the largest collection of Egyptian treasures in the Western U.S. The extensive grounds also house a planetarium, peace garden, temple & research library. READ MORE ->
Upon her death in 1950, Isabel de Saisset bequeathed to Santa Clara College parcels of real estate located at the northwest corner of Market and Post Streets and the northeast corner of San Pedro and Post Streets in the city of San Jose. She donated the property for the purpose of enabling Santa Clara College to raise funds to build a museum on the campus. The architectural style of the building was to conform to the other buildings on campus and bear the family name. Isabel de Saisset also bequeathed some of her household and personal items, including jewelry and silver, as well as her entire collection of paintings. These were formerly located in her home on Market Street in San Jose and they were painted by her deceased brother Ernest de Saisset, a Santa Clara College student between 1884 and 1899. The de Saisset Art Gallery and Museum opened in 1955 and exhibited the de Saisset paintings and artifacts as well as Santa Clara Mission artifacts from the Galtes Museum, formerly housed in the basement of O'Connor Hall. Over time, the museum came to be known as the de Saisset Museum and acquired more Santa Clara Valley artifacts and works of art from many periods and cultures. READ MORE ->
Gallery with a permanent collection of historical works & special exhibits of edgy contemporary art. - Google. The Hammer Museum opened to the public in November 1990. Founded by Dr. Armand Hammer, former Chairman of Occidental Petroleum Corporation, the Museum was designed by architect Edward Larrabee Barnes.
A vast collection of autos including restored antiques, race cars & vehicles from famous movies. - Google Founded on June 11, 1994 by magazine publisher Robert E. Petersen and his wife Margie. he museum is housed in a historic department store building dating back to 1962, the façade of which was redesigned by the architectural firm Kohn Pedersen Fox in 2015. As a result of the $90 million renovation, the interior of the original Welton Becket-designed building now features 25 rotating exhibitions with more than 150 vehicles on view. READ MORE ->
Missoula is a city in western Montana. The 1877 Fort Missoula includes restored buildings and the Historical Museum, with local artifacts. The Missoula Art Museum displays contemporary art. A Carousel for Missoula is a merry-go-round with handcrafted wooden ponies. Trails cross rugged Mount Sentinel and Mount Jumbo. Northeast, Rattlesnake National Recreation Area & Wilderness has peaks, forests and waterfalls.
The Sinagua people built this 20-room castle on a cliff approximately 800 years ago. History: From about 600 to 1100 AD the region was occupied by a people with ties to the Hohokam, a major culture centered around present-day Phoenix. The remains of pithouses—one-room structures built of rock, mud, poles and sticks characteristic of the Hohokam culture—can still be found in the area. One such pithouse is on display at Montezuma Well, five miles to the northeast of Montezuma Castle along Beaver Creek. Around 1100 AD the region began to see an influx of Sinagua from the north. All of the large, multi-roomed complexes in the Verde Valley, including Motezuma Castle, Montezuma Well, Tuzigoot, the cliff dwellings around Sedona, and Walnut Canyon near Flagstaff date from about that time. Montezuma Castle itself was constructed and occupied during the period 1200 to 1450. Most of these sites were continuously inhabited by the Sinagua for approximately three hundred years. They were all abandoned between 1400 and 1450 AD, a period that marks the collapse of all the major civilizations in the southwest, including the Sinagua, Hohokam, Salado, Mogollon, and Anasazi. The reasons for this regional collapse have never been fully understood. Possible explanations include an extended period of drought, disease, the exhaustion of farmlands due to non-sustainable agricultural techniques, and war.
Museum of the Rockies at Montana State University is a Smithsonian Affiliate, recognized as one of the world's finest research and history museums. It is renowned for displaying an extensive collection of dinosaur fossils, including a T. rex skeleton! READ MORE ->
Home to one of Diego Rivera’s most famous works, Sueño de una tarde dominical en la Alameda Central (Dream of a Sunday Afternoon in the Alameda Central), a 15m-long mural painted in 1947. Rivera imagined many of the figures who walked in the city from colonial times onward, among them Hernán Cortés, Benito Juárez, Porfirio Díaz and Francisco Madero. All are grouped around a Catrina (skeleton in pre-revolutionary women’s garb). Rivera himself, as a pug-faced child, and Frida Kahlo stand beside the skeleton. Charts identify all the characters. The museum was built in 1986 to house the mural, after its original location, the Hotel del Prado, was wrecked by the 1985 earthquake. READ MORE ->
Located in an eighteenth-century building facing onto the Plaza de la Santa Veracruz, the Franz Mayer Museum houses the finest collection of decorative arts in Mexico and presents temporary exhibitions of design and photography. The permanent collection allows visitors to gain an appreciation of decorative arts from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries, with a variety of origins, materials and styles. The disciplines included in the collection are silverwork, ceramics, furniture, textiles, sculpture and painting, as well as pieces in feather art, lacquer, ivory, tortoiseshell, glass and enamel. http://www.saatchigallery.com/museums/museum-profile/Museo+Franz+Mayer/803.html
Iconic from the moment it was opened in 1994. Named for the late wife of its millionaire owner Carlos Slim, the Museo Soumaya is the shimmering highlight in Mexico City’s vast art gallery collection. While it’s predominantly recognisable for its unique and striking architecture, the art collections housed in the jaw-dropping buildings that make up this museum are just as extraordinary. READ MORE ->